SoundSport

Forward Performing Arts and the Madison Scouts are excited to announce a SoundSport marching arts performance ensemble for the 2017 season. SoundSport is a league of Drum Corps International (DCI) that takes the excitement and challenge of the drum corps activity and places it into a smaller performance footprint, has fewer restrictions, and simplified adjudication.

CLICK IMAGE TO DOWNLOAD BROCHURE & POSTER

SoundSport teams can focus on skills and performance development in a fan-friendly environment, giving the member an excellent experience and learning environment. The time and financial commitments are much lower and it is a perfect way to get a taste of the drum corps experience or better prepare yourself for the fall marching band season.

The Scouts SoundSport team will focus on skills and performance development for members ages 15-20 and will be utilizing many of the same staff members who are teaching the Madison Scouts. It will be a co-ed ensemble that will develop a 7-minute show that will be produced in a time-efficient rehearsal process. Depending on interest, this year’s team will be focused on wind instruments (brass & woodwinds) with supplemental percussionsists.

Registering and auditioning is simple, virtual, and has no cost. All skill levels will be considered. Tuition and fees will be $450 and students will provide their own instruments with the exception of tubas, drum set, and other percussion.

Rehearsals:
Saturday, April 22 – 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday, May 6 – 2 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Saturday, May 20 – 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 3 – 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 17 – 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Saturday, June 24 – 4:30 p.m. Rehearsal/Show
Monday, July 3 – 4:30 p.m. Rehearsal/Show
Thursday, July 6 – 4:30 p.m. Rehearsal/Show
Saturday, July 15 – 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, July 22 – 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, July 29 – 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.
Saturday, August 5 – 1 p.m. to 5 p.m.

Performances:
Saturday, June 24 – The Whitewater Classic in Whitewater, WI
Monday, July 3 – Rotary Music Festival in Cedarburg, WI
Thursday, July 6 – The Northwoods Encore in Wausau, WI
Sunday, July 9 – Drums on Parade in Madison, WI
August 10-12 – DCI World Championships in Indianapolis, IN

For more information, contact director Dann Petersen at director@madisonscouts.org

CLICK TO REGISTER FOR SOUNDSPORT